A trip to Barnes and Noble

Well, after my first all-nighter of college, I’m finally done with first semester of organic chemistry. Taking such a difficult class squished into 5 weeks has been taking away all of my knitting time. I did have time to go on a date with the boyfriend to Barnes & Noble though where I got to take a look at the knitting books. There were a ton of books with patterns,mbut with Ravelry, buying a book doesn’t really seem worth it. However, the technique books looked pretty cool- I especially want the one on finishing techniques since that is the most confusing part for me.

20130713-184148.jpg I still haven’t knit anything with an exact size or shape in mind and its kind of intimidating… Especially since I’m lazy and never really do swatches…
Besides the above books which I might look for on amazon, I bought my first knitting magazine just to see what they’re like. They basically seem like pattern books to me but with some articles on technique. Here’s the one I bought:

20130713-184842.jpg
It cost a painful $15 but it was really the only one with patterns that I would actually wear. Most of the magazines didn’t have much geared towards a 20 year old so this one surprised me with its trendy patterns. I really want to make the two sweaters below. It also has an article on knitting with intarsia on an angle that looks really advanced. Maybe I’ll check that out someday.

20130713-184829.jpg
Where do you guys get your patterns? Has ravelry and the prevalence of online patterns (especially free patterns) made physical books obsolete for you? Also, do you guys have any recommendations for a book on finishing techniques?

3 comments

  1. gretchen

    Although Ravelry has been a huge resource for me in terms of patterns, books are not obsolete in my home. As you found – a good book on technique is well worth it! Regarding finishing, though, my mom taught me so I never bought a book about it.

Leave a Reply

