Inishturk Hat

After I posted yesterday about my new Elsa wool yarn, I couldn’t help but dive right into working with it. I rolled it into a nice ball and cast on for the hat that matches this sweater.
The pattern is actually really fun. It’s challenging but easy enough that I can memorize/intuit it without looking at the instructions. I especially like the braided cable. Here’s how far I’ve gotten:

20130303-004003.jpg
As you can see, the yarn gives really nice stitch definition. I like the natural grey/brown color too. It’s really soft and super easy to work with. I’ll post a longer review of it later, but in short, I’m loving it so far!

20130303-004147.jpg

Also, on a related note, I bought a set of interchangeable circular needles today. They were normally $70 at Michael’s but with my 50% off coupon, they were a really great deal. The nylon string/chord/whatever its called was a little stiff at first but after using it on the hat, its started to get easier to work with.

One comment

  1. andresue

    The yarn looks beautiful! And the hat looks like it’s going to be soft, warm and cozy. 🙂

    Have you decided if you are going to splurge and knit the sweater in this yarn?

Leave a Reply

