My first sweater is done!

20130202-151618.jpg

After three months of knitting, my first ever sweater is done! It took me about a week to sew all the pieces together (the zipper itself took 2 hours…) but it looks great! And even more exciting is that it fits my boyfriend even though I didn’t know how to make a swatch when I started. Yay!
Here are a few more pictures of it:

20130202-151645.jpg

20130202-152350.jpg
Here’s a quick picture of me wearing it right after I finished piecing it together. it’s obviously pretty big but so comfy! I’ll definitely be stealing it occasionally:

20130202-151858.jpg

I’m currently blocking it on the floor of the common room in my dorm- the pattern said to just spray it down and let it dry. The yarn is actually machine washable which is nice although I’m a little anxious about it living through the washing machine.

Here are a few quick things that I learned:
– I completely understand why people like seamless sweaters so much- sewing seams is a huge pain. Although mattress stitch makes the seams mostly invisible, it kind of takes forever
– I should knit pairs of things (like sleeves) one right after the other- or both simultaneously. Although both sleeves have the same number of stitches and rows, my knitting got much looser from one to the next so one sleeve is about 3 inches longer than the other one. Thankfully, the sweater is designed to be nice and loose so it isn’t that noticeable
– my next sweater will have something like color work or cables to make it more interesting. I had a hard time pushing through so much stockinette stitch…

All in all though, this was a fun project and I’m so excited that it turned out so well! I kind of want to cast on another sweater right away, but I’ll do my best to refrain from that for a bit haha.
Also, thanks everyone for all of your suggestions and support as I’ve been working on this project. It was fun and I learned a lot!

6 comments

  1. Kim

    Awesome job!! Love how it looks on you AND on Sam! πŸ™‚ Love how you did the sleeves too (and you can’t tell the length difference in the pictures).

  2. scouseaspie

    I haven’t logged in for a while but have been wondering how you got on… The sweater is FAB, well done!!! I can’t notice any difference at all in the sleeve lengths, and I love what you’ve done with the top of them πŸ™‚ I managed to finish my sweater too, blog post to follow shortly!

    • Emily C

      Thanks! And I’m really glad you can’t tell the difference in the sleeves- it really isn’t too noticeable when your wearing it besides the fact that one armhole is a bit tighter than the other. I can’t wait to see your sweater too! I’m really looking forward to your post!

Leave a Reply

