Sweater update (Pt 2 in the continuing sweater saga)

Here’s a quick update on how my sweater is coming. I’ve finished the front, back, and a sleeve, and I’m working on the second sleeve now. Then its on to garment construction (which I’m slightly terrified about but we’ll see how it goes)

20130122-003358.jpg
After many rows of stockinette stitch, I’ll get to do a bit more color work at the top.

The front has some colorwork too. Instead of a fancy pattern, this is a big block of color. The method is known as intarsia (look at all the cool words I’m learning). Here’s a look at the front:

20130122-003721.jpg

And here’s the back:

20130122-003805.jpg
You can see where the two colors are overlapped. This keeps the stitches connected- without it, you’d just have two separate panels that weren’t attached. It took me a while to figure this out when I did it since I didn’t know it was a special technique. But now, after flipping through The Principles of Knitting, I know better. And I know how to do it correctly so things like this don’t happen

20130122-004138.jpg

Well, hopefully I’ll get the sleeve finished up in the next few days. I can’t believe how close I am to finishing an actual sweater! Hopefully my excitement will keep me from starting up all the fun projects I have in my queue but we’ll see.

And the sweater saga continues…

3 comments

  1. reWOLLuzza

    Stay strong and don’t fall on the dark side of knitting! You*ll finish that sweater!
    (Me? Ah. no. Intarsia knitting drives me crazy. All those balls of yarn getting tangled…)

    • Emily C

      Thanks haha. I’ll do my best! And yeah, I did get a bit tangled up. This section wasn’t too bad, but I’d imagine that anything more complicated would be a bit of nightmare

  2. scouseaspie

    It’s looking good, keep it up! I just got to the sleeves on my sweater… I decided to cast them both on the one needle since I’m afraid I’ll complete one then find every available excuse not to start on the second!

Leave a Reply

