A break from the octopus

Ive really been struggling to get the second sleeve on the octopus sweater done. The fact that it’s finals time and I feel guilty for taking time away from studying to knit hasn’t helped so I’ve decided to take a little bit of a break from knitting the Embrace Octopus sweater and find some fun summer knits to make.
First in my queue is the Song of the Sea scarf. It’s a beautiful lace scarf and I think it’ll make a good first lace project for me.

20140430-133902.jpg I just bought a beautiful skein of yarn for it as a birthday present for myself (I turned 21 yesterday!)- Fyberspates Rural charm in pale turquoise. It’s 70% Bluefaced Leicester, 20% silk, and 10% cashmere and I think it’s probably the most expensive single skein of yarn I’ve ever bought.

20140430-133841.jpg
After Song of the Sea, I really want to knit something that I can wear this summer in St Louis when it’s going to be 100 degrees and humid. I found this really cool pattern on Ravelry- the #22 Lacy Tee from the spring/summer 2013 issue of Vogue Knitting.

20140430-134441.jpg I haven’t picked out yarn yet but I’m thinking of using something in linen or cotton since I’ve never knit with either of those fibers before. Do you guys have any suggestions?
I’m really excited for this summer. I was awarded a biomedical research fellowship so I’ll be working in a biology lab full time which will leave me lots of time on the evenings and weekends to catch up on my knitting. I can’t wait!

3 comments

  1. dissemiknit

    Hello fellow St. Louisan! You’ve picked some really good projects. The Song of the Sea has been in my favorites for a long time. The Lace Tee calls for fingering merino – a linen or cotton would change the texture and feel of the project. Linen can be rough feeling unless it’s been processed with softening in mind (although it softens over time as you wear it). Cotton especially would turn into a tunic over time! Lace likes to stretch, and so does cotton. Put them together and! – what about a blend? Brown Sheep’s Cotton Fine has 20% wool, but 80% cotton to keep it cool. Your favorite LYS that carries Brown Sheep can order it for you (Brown Sheep doesn’t require minimums, so shops 1.) don’t often carry a large variety, but 2.) can order as little or as much as you want.)

Leave a Reply

