Afmaeli Sweater: the beginning

Well, I ran out of yarn for my Min Ulla scarf yesterday and I haven’t had the chance to make it to a yarn store yet so I started my next project: the Afmaeli Sweater. It’s a beautiful faire isle yoke sweater made with Aran weight yarn. I’m using the pattern that corresponds to the blue sweater in the picture below


The yarn I’m using is Knit Picks City Tweed Aran. It’s 55% Merino wool, 25% superfine alpaca, and 20% Donegal tweed. It’s a beautiful yarn that is incredibly soft. It’s wonderful to work with in my experience so far and I’ve had no problems with it being splitty like the yarn I’m using for the scarf.

20131223-234638.jpg
This sweater is for my roommate who kindly offered to buy the yarn since she doesn’t like the feel of normal wool. We got it on sale during the Big Sale on Knit Picks! She picked out three colors: black and cream for the details on the yoke and an emerald green for the main body of the sweater.

20131223-235026.jpg

20131223-235036.jpg
The sweater is knit in the round bottom-up which is nice. I’ve been using circulars so much (the knit picks interchangeable circs are amazing by the way- the cables are nice and flexible).
Also, sorry if this reads a bit like an advertisement for Knit Picks. They don’t sponsor me or give me anything to say nice things- I just really like getting nice yarn for cheap!
I’m really excited to work on this sweater! I think it’s going to turn out really beautifully!

One comment

Leave a Reply

